個人及家庭計劃會員

我們竭力為您提供優質的護理服務並及時回應您的問題。您可以將您的問題與會員服務中心商討。

以下PDF鏈接將在新窗口中打開。
下載Adobe PDF閱讀器

甚麽是投訴或上訴

投訴是您通過親身體驗或觀察而感到不滿的一種表達方式,包括您對服務質素的不滿、預約等候時間太久、醫生或其他醫護人員的態度行爲、設施不夠充足、或其他類似的顧慮。

上訴是指當我們拒絕保障您所接受的醫療服務,或是拒絕提供您認爲保健計劃會員應得的服務時,您所採取的投訴方式。可上訴的保障裁決包括保健計劃拒絕為您支付某種您已接受的醫療服務,您可以就此提出上訴。或者,保健計劃拒絕安排,完成或支付您認爲應得的藥物或服務,您也可以提出上訴。

您可以對任何問題提出投訴。投訴是指書面或口頭上對華人保健計劃及其醫療服務提供者表達不滿的方式。投訴可以由會員自己本人或其代理人提出,包括對護理服務質量的關注, 投訴,糾紛,要求復審等等。

以下人士可以提出投訴:

  • 您可以自己提出投訴
  • 您可以填妥授權表格以委託某人作為您的授權代表。授權表格可從會員服務中心索取或致電會員服務電話中心。您的授權書必須附在您的投訴表格上。
  • 您可以為您未成年子女提出投訴。但如果他們擁有資料保密法律擁有權的話,您則需要出示,他們受權您為其代理人的授權書。
  • 如果您是由法庭委任的監護人,您可以為您的受監護人提出投訴。
  • 如果您是法庭指定保護人,您可以為您的被保護人提出投訴。
  • 如果您是一個醫療保健代理人,您可以在法律允許之情況下,為您的委託人提出投訴。
  • 您的醫生可能要求加急投诉處理程序,“加急投诉”在以下解決糾紛章節中有説明。

如何提出投訴或上訴

您必須解釋投訴的原因,例如解釋您為什麼認為這個決定是錯誤,或為什麼您對接受的服務不滿意。您必須在該事件或事故發生的180天內以書面或口頭形式,通過郵寄,傳真或親臨我們的會員服務中心辦理投訴手續,請參照以下的聯絡方式:

電話: 1-888-775-7888 | 1-877-681-8898 (聽力殘障人士電話 TTY)
傳真: 415-397-2129
親臨: CCHP 會員服務中心, 845 Jackson Street. San Francisco, CA 94133
郵寄: CCHP 會員服務中心, 445 Grant Avenue, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94108
電郵: ganda@cchphealthplan.com
網址: 您可以點擊以下連接下載投訴表格:
投訴表格 (英語)    (中文)      (西班牙語)或直接在CCHP會員醫護資料網站提交

呈交投訴/上訴後

呈交投訴後五天之内,我們會寄信通知您我們已經收到您的投訴。在收到您投訴的30天之内,我們會用書面通知您有關「華人保健計劃」對您投訴的解決方法,以及若您不滿意我們的解決方法時,下一步該如何做的説明。

加急處理

您和您的醫生可以作出口頭或書面要求我們加快對您的投訴的裁決。如果投訴涉及緊急和嚴重威脅到您的健康,例如劇烈的疼痛或可能失去生命,肢體或主要身體機能。我們會在72小時內(口頭或書面)對您的投訴作出回應,決定有關您的加急投訴的處理結果。對於治療期滿要求延續的要求,我們也會加急裁決。

提出加急處理,您或您的醫生必須通過以下其中一種方式提出申請,請務必註明要求加急處理:

  • 請於辦公時間, 星期一至日,上午8 時至晚上8 時,致電1-888-775-7888與會員服務部聯絡。您可以在辦公時間後留言,我們的代表會在下一個工作日回復您的來電。
  • 郵寄您的書面申請到:  CCHP 華人保健計劃會員服務中心 445 Grant Ave Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94108
  • 傳真: 415-397-2129
  • 親臨:  CCHP 會員服務中心, 845 Jackson Street. San Francisco, CA 94133

如果我們不批准您加急處理的請求,我們會告知您並會在30日內答复您。如果我們不批准您的投訴,我們會寄給您一份書面通知,告知您原因以及其它可以解決糾紛的方法。

備註:如果您的問題涉及緊急和嚴重威脅到您的健康(例如劇烈的疼痛或可能失去生命,肢體或主要身體機能),您可以隨時直接聯繫DMHC,而不需向我們預先提交投訴要求。

加急上訴處理

在某些情況下,例如當一個決定的延誤可能會對您造成危急和嚴重威脅到您的健康,包括但不限於劇烈疼痛,可能失去生命,肢體或主要功能時,您有提出加急上訴處理的權利。如果您要求加急上訴,華人保健計劃會對您的要求和醫療狀況進行評估,以確定您是否符合加急上訴處理資格。加急上訴處理會在72小時內處理。雖然我們建議您首先聯絡華人保健計劃提交加急上訴處理申請,但您也可以直接聯絡州保健管理局,而毋須事先使用我們的加急處理和加急上訴程序。欲了解有關如何提出加急要求,請參閱下面標題為“加州投訴程序”章節。

仲裁處理

仲裁是解決會員與計劃之間可能產生的任何爭議的最終處理方式。當您加入計劃時,您即同意將爭議提交至中立仲裁處理, 同時您也同意放棄將爭議提交到評審委員會和法庭審理的權利。會員服務中心可以為您提供仲裁條例的副本。仲裁條例中説明使用仲裁將會收取一定的費用。但如果您對支付仲裁費用中的需分擔費用有極大的困難,您可以向華人保健計劃提交豁免支付費用的申請。

具有約束力的仲裁

所有爭議,包括但不限於該計劃所提供的服務或與計劃有關的問題,爭議產生或涉嫌違反責任事故,產生或涉及到保障說明書或會員與華人保健計劃的關係,醫療或醫院不當行為的索賠,如果爭議的金額超過小額索償法庭管轄上限,都必須通過具有約束力的仲裁解決。

加州健康與安全守則第1363.1節規定必須具體公布以下信息: 本人已了解任何醫療過失理賠,即不論本計劃提供的任何醫療服務是非必要或未經批準的,或為不適當、疏忽、或判斷失當,均應依加州法規提交仲裁解決,而不是提出訴訟或訴諸法庭程序,除非法律有仲裁司法審查的規定。簽署本合約之各方放棄包括其交由陪審團法庭解決爭議和醫療事故索賠的憲法權利,並接受採用提交具有約束力的仲裁處理。

會員和華人保健計劃同意接受這一項具有約束力的仲裁條款和放棄陪審團審理爭議的權利,包括任何醫療過失理賠即不論本計劃提供的任何醫療服務或其它爭議。

仲裁應由司法仲裁和調解服務(“JAMS”)按照JAMS綜合仲裁規定和程序執行。聯邦仲裁法,美國憲法9,第1-16章節也適用。在聯邦仲裁法不適用時,或被認為是索賠仲裁不需要時,加州法律管轄仲裁協議在此適用。除了州或聯邦法律規定的仲裁程序司法審查,仲裁員的調查結果應是最終和有約束力的。仲裁員應當給各方準備書面形式文件,包括事實調查結果和裁決所根據的法律上的原因。

申請人應主動向被告發出書面仲裁請求,按照JAMS程序提交仲裁。仲裁請求應包括:索賠的理由,申請人要求的索償金額,申請人或其律師的姓名,地址和電話,所有需答辯人的姓名。提出仲裁時,申請人應包括所有基於相同的事故,交易或有關情況的索賠要求。

請將仲裁文件寄至:

CCHP 華人保健計劃行政部, 445 Grant Avenue, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94108

根據加州民事訴訟法所有被告,包括個人都必須出席。

若索賠總額為二十萬美元($200,000)或以下,應選擇一個中立仲裁員。除非案件或爭議已發生後或提交仲裁請求後,當事人書面同意,可使用三方仲裁小組。仲裁員不能批准超過20萬美元的金額賠償。若索賠總額超過二十萬美元($200,000),此爭議應由一名中立仲裁員和雙方仲裁員(答辯人和申請人任命)聽審和決定。如果各方同意,仲裁可以只需一名中立仲裁員聽審。

仲裁的費用會按照JAMS消費仲裁條例分配。華人保健計劃將承擔JAMS批準豁免支付費用的財政困難仲裁申請者的全部或部分仲裁費用。仲裁費用包括但不限於律師費,證人費及其它在索賠起訴或抗辯的其它費用應由敗訴方或仲裁員決定支付比例。

有關條款

索賠應被免除和永久禁止,如果: (1) 索賠已在民事訴訟中宣判,索賠要求已完成,被告可使用訴訟時效停止索賠; (2) 申請人未能盡合理的努力符合JAMS仲裁要求規則和程序; 或 (3) 仲裁聽證會沒有在五(5)年內開庭(以較早者為準)(a)仲裁請求完成之後,或(b)與索賠相關的事件,交易或情況提交民事訴訟之日起。索賠要求可能會因合理原因被仲裁員駁回。如果一方未能因缺席聽證會給予合理的通知,仲裁員可以在一方缺席下進行爭議仲裁決定。

1975年的加州醫療損害賠償改革法案,包括向病人介紹保險或傷殘福利金的權利,恢復期間的非財產損失的限制,和申請將來的財產損失定期賠償金的權利,適用於任何涉及專業過失的索賠或任何法律允許或規定的索賠。

加州的投訴程序

所有加州的保健計劃公司都是由州政府一個部門督管。以下的資料説明該部門可以為您提供的援助。

加州管理醫療護理部負責督管各醫療保健計劃。如您對保健計劃的服務有不滿或意見,在向加州管理醫療護理部投訴之前,您應首先致電您的醫療保健計劃電話 (1-888-775-7888),依循計劃的投訴程序解決問題。使用此種投訴方式並不影響您可享有的法律及採用其他解決方法的權利。但若投訴屬於緊急情況,或不滿意計劃解決投訴的方法,或投訴經過三十天後仍未解決,您可以直接致電加州管理醫療護理部要求協助。您可能符合獨立醫療評審 (IMR) 的資格。如您符合IMR 資格,IMR會就保健計劃提出的,必要醫療服務或治療的建 議,屬實驗性或研究性的治療承保決定、或緊急或急切醫療服務付款之糾紛,作出無偏私的評審。該部門同時設有一個免費電話號碼(1-888-HMO-2219) 和 TDD 號碼 (1-877-688-9891)供聽覺或講話有困難人士使用。該部門的網頁 http://www.hmohelp.ca.gov載有投訴表格、IMR 申請表和指引等。 (如點擊此鏈接,您將離開CCHP網站。)

獨立醫療評審

如果您符合資格,您和您的授權代表會將您的問題通過獨立醫療評審(IMR)程序由加州醫療保健管理局(DMHC)審閱。加州醫療保健管理局決定符合IMR的案件。此審查是免費的。如果您決定不使用IMR,表示您放棄向我們追究法律責任的權利。

如果以下均屬真實情況﹐您則符合申請「獨立醫療審查」資格:

  • 您有醫生證明,要求必要醫療服務的建議信。
  • 您接受了緊急護理或急救護理,您的醫生認為這是必須的醫療服務。
  • 您的醫療狀況已經被您的計劃網絡醫生或醫療機構作出病情的診斷或治療。
  • 您被拒絕、變更或拖延提供某項服務或治療﹐因其認為該服務或治療在醫療上無必要。
  • 您已經遞交投訴而我們拒絕或沒有在30日內(或3日加急處理)回復您的投訴。 DMHC可能無需您先向我們提交一份投訴,如果在非常緊急的情況下,如劇烈疼痛或可能失去生命,肢體或主要身體功能。

您可能符合IMR申請資格,如果您要求的服務被拒絕,是屬於在“拒絕試驗性和研究性治療“的章節下的試驗和研究性治療。如果DMHC裁定您的情況符合申請IMR,DMHC會要求我們將您的個案交給DMHC獨立醫療審查會。當獨立醫療審查會審閱完畢,DMHC會立即通知您裁決結果。 如果您滿意裁決結果,我們會聯絡您安排您接受醫療服務或付款。

拒絕支付試驗性和研究性治療

如果我們因爲是試驗性和研究性治療而拒絕提供服務,我們會在五日內作出決定,並書面通知您。我們會解釋爲什麼拒絕服務,並為您提供解決糾紛的其它方法。此外,我們在作出決定時,如果您能提供以下的資料,您則符合資格有權要求獨立醫療審查:

  • 您的主治醫生書面說明您的病情有致命危險或嚴重失能的狀況,而且標准治療無法改善您病情,並對您的病情是不適宜或不利的,除了您要求的服務之外沒有更有效的治療服務。致命危險是指疾病或身體狀況存在死亡的可能性,除非經過臨床醫療干預,潛在致命后果才得到治療。“嚴重失能“是指造成嚴重不可逆轉的身體狀況。
  • 如果您的主治醫生是聯網内的醫生,他或她能出示證據證明其推薦的治療方法、藥物、設備、醫療程序等比任何現有的標準治療更加有利於您的身體狀況。
  • 您(或您的非聯網醫生,其有證書並經董事會認證資格,或在治療您的病情的領域里有認證醫師資格)要求一種治療,並在加州健康和安全守則第1370.4(D)條定義内,同時根據於兩份來自醫療或科學驗證的文件,證明此治療比現有標準治療更有利於您的病情。醫生認證包括一份醫生的建議聲明。我們不承保非計劃聯網醫生提供的服務。

注意:對於拒絕試驗及研究性的治療,您可以在任何時候申請IMR,而無需在申請前使用「華人保健計劃」的上訴和投訴的程序。

Individual & Family Plan Members

Individual & Family Plan Members

For Individual & Family Plan Members

We are committed to providing you with quality care and with a timely response to your concerns. You can discuss your concerns with our Member Services Center.

The following PDF links open in a new window.
Download Adobe PDF reader

 

What is a Grievance or an Appeal 

A grievance is a complaint about a problem you observe or experience, including complaints about the quality of services that you receive, complaints regarding such issues as office waiting times, physician behavior, adequacy of facilities, or other similar concerns.

An appeal is a complaint about a coverage decision, including a denial of payment for a service you received, or a denial in providing a service you feel you are entitled to as a CCHP Member. Coverage decisions that may be appealed include a denial of payment for any health care services you received, or a denial of a service you believe should have been arranged for, furnished, or paid for by the CCHP.

You can file a grievance for any issue. Grievance means a written or oral expression of dissatisfaction regarding the plan and or provider, including quality of care concerns, and shall include a complaint, dispute, request for reconsideration, or appeal made by a Member or the Member’s representative.

The following persons may file a grievance:

  • You may file for yourself
  • You may appoint someone as your authorized representative by completing our authorization form. Authorization forms are available from your local Member Services Center at a Plan Facility or by calling our Member Service Call Center. Your completed authorization form must accompany the grievance
  • You may file for your Dependent children, except that they must appoint you as their authorized representative if they have the legal right to control release of information that is relevant to the grievance
  • You may file for your ward if you are a court appointed guardian
  • You may file for your conservatee if you are a court appointed conservator
  • You may file for your principal if you are an agent under a health care proxy, to the extent provided under state law
  • Your physician may request an expedited grievance as described under "Expedited grievance" in this "Dispute Resolution" section

How to File

Your grievance must explain your issue, such as the reasons why you believe a decision was in error or why you are dissatisfied about services you received. You must submit your grievance orally or in writing within 180 days of the date of the incident that caused your dissatisfaction as follows:

By Telephone: 1-888-775-7888 (TTY) 1-877-681-8898
By Fax: 415-397-2129
In Person: Member Services Center 845 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
By Mail: Member Services Center Chinese Community Health Plan 445 Grant Avenue, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94108
Online You may obtain the grievance form on our website at Grievance and Appeals Procedure

What Happens After You File

We will send you a confirmation letter within five days after we receive your grievance. We will send you our written decision within 30 days after we receive your grievance. If we do not approve your request, we will tell you the reasons and about additional dispute resolution options.

Expedited Grievance

You or your physician may make an oral or written request that we expedite our decision about your grievance if it involves an imminent and serious threat to your health, such as severe pain or potential loss of life, limb, or major bodily function. We will inform you of our decision within 72 hours (orally or in writing). We will also expedite our decision if the request is for a continuation of an expiring course of treatment.

You or your physician must request an expedited decision in one of the following ways and you must specifically state that you want an expedited decision:

  • Call our CCHP Member Services Center at 1-888-775-7888 (TTY users call 1-877-681-8898), which is available Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. After hours, you may leave a message and a representative will return your call the next business day
  • Send your written request to:

    Member Services Center Chinese Community Health Plan. 445 Grant Ave Suite 700, San Francisco, CA 94108

  • Fax your written request to our Member Services Center at 415-397-2129
  • Deliver your request in person to:

    Member Services Center 845 Jackson Street, San Francisco, CA 94133

If we do not approve your request for an expedited decision, we will notify you and we will respond to your grievance within 30 days. If we do not approve your grievance, we will send you a written decision that tells you the reasons and about additional dispute resolution options.

Note: If you have an issue that involves an imminent and serious threat to your health (such as severe pain or potential loss of life, limb, or major bodily function), you can contact the DMHC directly at any time without first filing a grievance with us.

Expedited Appeals

In some cases, you have the right to an expedited appeal when a delay in decision-making might pose an imminent and serious threat to your health, including but not limited to severe pain, potential loss of life, limb, or major bodily function. If you request an expedited appeal, the health plan will evaluate your request and medical condition to determine if your appeal qualifies as expedited; expedited appeals are processed within 72 hours. While you are encouraged to contact CCHP with your request for an expedited appeal, please note that you may contact the Department of Managed Health Care directly without first being required to use the CCHP grievance and appeal process; please see the section below entitled “State of California Complaint Process” for information on how to make such a request.

Arbitration

Arbitration is the final process for resolution of any disputes which may arise between a Member and the Plan. When you enroll in this Plan, you agree that such disputes will be decided by neutral arbitration and you also agree to give up your right to a jury or court trial for the settlement of such disputes. The Member Services Center can send you a copy of the arbitration provisions. In the arbitration provision, there is a fee required to file an arbitration claim. However, if paying your portion of the required fees and expenses would cause you extreme hardship you may petition for release from paying those fees and expenses by requesting an application to proceed In Forma Pauperis from the Plan.

Binding Arbitration

All disputes, including without limitation disputes relating to the delivery of services under the Plan or issues related to the Plan, disputes arising from or relating to an alleged violation of any duty incident to, arising out of or relating to this Combined Evidence of Coverage and Disclosure Form or a Member's relationship to CCHP, and claims of medical or hospital malpractice, must be resolved by binding arbitration if the amount in dispute exceeds the jurisdictional limit of small claims court.

California Health & Safety Code section 1363.1 requires specific disclosures including the following notice: “It is understood that any dispute as to medical malpractice, that is, whether any medical services rendered under this contract were unnecessary or unauthorized or were improperly, negligently or incompetently rendered, will be determined by submission to arbitration as provided by California law, and not by a lawsuit or resort to court process except as California law provides for judicial review of arbitration proceedings. Both parties to this contract, by entering into it, acknowledge that they are giving up their constitutional right to have any and all disputes, including medical malpractice claims, decided in a court of law before a jury, and instead are accepting the use of arbitration.”

Member and CCHP agree to be bound by this binding arbitration provision and acknowledge that the right to a jury trial is waived for disputes relating to the delivery of services under the Plan or any other issue related to the Plan and medical malpractice claims.

Arbitration shall be administered by Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services (“JAMS”) in accordance with the JAMS Comprehensive Arbitration Rules and Procedures. The Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. Sections 1-16, shall also apply. To the extent that the Federal Arbitration Act is inapplicable, or is held not to require arbitration of a particular claim, California state law governing agreements to arbitrate shall apply. The arbitrator’s findings shall be final and binding except to the extent that State or Federal law provides for the judicial review of arbitration proceedings. The arbitrator shall prepare in writing and provide to the parties an award including factual findings and the legal reasons on which the award is based.

Claimant shall initiate arbitration by serving a written demand for arbitration to the respondent in accordance with JAMS procedures for submittal of arbitration. The demand for arbitration shall include: the basis of the claim against the respondent; the amount of damages the claimant seek in the arbitration; the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the claimant and their attorney, if any; and the names of all respondents. Claimant shall include all claims against respondent that are based on the same incident, transaction, or related circumstances in the demand for arbitration.

Please send all demands for arbitrations to:

Attn: Administration CCHP, 445 Grant Avenue, Suite 700 San Francisco, CA 94108

All other respondents, including individuals, must be served as required by California Code of Civil Procedure.

If the total amount of damages claimed is two hundred thousand ($200,000) dollars or less, a single neutral arbitrator shall be selected, unless the parties agree in writing, after a case or dispute has arisen and the request for arbitration has been submitted, to use a tripartite arbitration panel. The arbitrator shall not have authority to award monetary damages that are greater than $200,000. If the total amount of damages claimed is more than two hundred thousand ($200,000) dollars, the dispute shall be heard and determined by one neutral arbitrator and two party arbitrators, one appointed by claimant(s) and one appointed by respondent(s). If all parties agree, arbitration may be heard by a single neutral arbitrator.

The costs of the arbitration will be allocated per JAMS Policy on Consumer Arbitrations, except in cases of extreme financial hardship, upon application and approval by JAMS, CCHP will assume all or a portion of the costs of the arbitration. The costs associated with arbitration, including without limitation attorneys’ fees, witness fees and other expenses incurred in prosecuting or defending against a claim shall be borne by the losing party or in such proportions as the arbitrator shall decide.

General Provisions

A claim shall be waived and forever barred if: (1) on the date the demand for arbitration is served, the claim, if asserted in a civil action, would be barred as to the respondent served by the applicable statute of limitations; (2) claimant fails to pursue with reasonable diligence, the arbitration claim in accord with JAMS rules and procedures; or (3) the arbitration hearing is not commenced within five (5) years after the earlier of (a) the date the demand for arbitration was served, or (b) the date of filing of a civil action based upon the same incident, transaction, or related circumstances involved in the claim. A claim may be dismissed on other grounds by the arbitrator based on a showing of a good cause. If a party fails to attend the arbitration hearing after being given due notice thereof, the arbitrator may proceed to determine the controversy in the party's absence.

The California Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act of 1975, including sections establishing the right to introduce evidence of any insurance or disability benefit payment to the patient, the limitation on recovery for noneconomic losses, and the right to have an award for future damages conformed to periodic payments, shall apply to any claims for professional negligence or any other claims as permitted or required by law.

State of California Complaint Process

Health plans in California are regulated by a department of the state government. The paragraph below is information from this department about assistance you may be able to receive from that department.

The California Department of Managed Health Care is responsible for regulating health care service plans. If you have a grievance against your health plan, you should first telephone your health plan at 1-888-775-7888 and use your health plan’s grievance process before contacting the department. Utilizing this grievance procedure does not prohibit any potential legal rights or remedies that may be available to you. If you need help with a grievance involving an emergency, a grievance that has not been satisfactorily resolved by your health plan, or a grievance that has remained unresolved for more than 30 days, you may call the department for assistance. You may also be eligible for an Independent Medical Review (IMR). If you are eligible for IMR, the IMR process will provide an impartial review of medical decisions made by a health plan related to the medical necessity of a proposed service or treatment, coverage decisions for treatments that are experimental or investigational in nature and payment disputes for emergency or urgent medical services. The department also has a toll-free telephone number (1-888-HMO-2219) and a TDD line (1-877-688-9891) for the hearing and speech impaired. The department’s Internet Web site http://www.hmohelp.ca.gov has complaint forms, IMR application forms and instructions online.

Independent Medical Review

If you qualify, you or your authorized representative may have your issue reviewed through the Independent Medical Review (IMR) process managed by the California Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC). The DMHC determines which cases qualify for IMR. This review is at no cost to you. If you decide not to request an IMR, you may give up the right to pursue some legal actions against us.

You may qualify for IMR if all of the following are true:

  • You have a recommendation from a provider requesting Medically Necessary Services
  • You have received Emergency Care or Urgent Care from a provider who determined the Services to be Medically Necessary
  • You have been seen by a Plan Provider for the diagnosis or treatment of your medical condition
  • Your request for payment or Services has been denied, modified, or delayed based in whole or in part on a decision that the Services are not Medically Necessary
  • You have filed a grievance and we have denied it or we haven't made a decision about your grievance within 30 days (or three days for expedited grievances). The DMHC may waive the requirement that you first file a grievance with us in extraordinary and compelling cases, such as severe pain or potential loss of life, limb, or major bodily function

You may also qualify for IMR if the Service you requested has been denied on the basis that it is experimental or investigational as described under "Experimental or investigational denials." If the DMHC determines that your case is eligible for IMR, it will ask us to send your case to the DMHC's Independent Medical Review organization. The DMHC will promptly notify you of its decision after it receives the Independent Medical Review organization's determination. If the decision is in your favor, we will contact you to arrange for the Service or payment.

Experimental or Investigational Denials

If we deny a Service because it is experimental or investigational, we will send you our written explanation within five days of making our decision. We will explain why we denied the Service and provide additional dispute resolution options. Also, we will provide information about your right to request Independent Medical Review if we had the following information when we made our decision:

  • Your treating physician provided us a written statement that you have a life-threatening or seriously debilitating condition and that standard therapies have not been effective in improving your condition, or that standard therapies would not be appropriate, or that there is no more beneficial standard therapy we cover than the therapy being requested. "Life threatening" means diseases or conditions where the likelihood of death is high unless the course of the disease is interrupted or diseases or conditions with potentially fatal outcomes where the end point of clinical intervention is survival. "Seriously debilitating" means diseases or conditions that cause major irreversible morbidity
  • If your treating physician is a Plan Physician, he or she recommended a treatment, drug, device, procedure, or other therapy and certified that the requested therapy is likely to be more beneficial to you than any available standard therapies and included a statement of the evidence relied upon by the Plan Physician in certifying his or her recommendation
  • You (or your Non-Plan Physician who is a licensed, and either a board-certified or board-eligible, physician qualified in the area of practice appropriate to treat your condition) requested a therapy that, based on two documents from the medical and scientific evidence, as defined in California Health and Safety Code Section 1370.4(d), is likely to be more beneficial for you than any available standard therapy. The physician's certification included a statement of the evidence relied upon by the physician in certifying his or her recommendation. We do not cover the Services of the Non-Plan Provider

Note: You can request IMR for experimental or investigational denials at any time without first filing a grievance with us.